top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMIKL

The Abstract Hatch

Drip. Drip. Drip.


The water is an alarm clock. Why is there water dripping inside? I open my eyes to a room unfamiliar to me. Unkempt metal walls held together by thick rivets and spaced by large sheets of... glass? Behind the glass there is only water as far as I can tell. So is it glass at all? No. It's a thick plastic. Glass would shatter, right? Not the point.


There's a metal hatch on the other side of the room. It does not open. Opposite the metal hatch is the drip. Drip. Drip. It's in perfect time. Nature's metronome condensed and controlled by faulty and failing construction. But a drip means a leak, and a leak, underwater, means danger. But the drip is slow, and I hope it means I'm safe.


How do I get out?

Do I get out at all?

Am I meant to be here?

Why?


It turns out I deserved it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For The Countryside

Today I had what seemed like a vision. I had a very vivid glimpse of a little house in the forest, and I immediately had the sense that I...

2019

Going into this next year I've promised myself that I'd try and focus more on my mental health. That's not to say my mental health is...

Arashi and the Man

When I looked up at the sky, it seemed wrong. It looked fractured, wounded even. "Will it always look like this?" He turned to me and...

Comments


bottom of page