top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMIKL

2019

Going into this next year I've promised myself that I'd try and focus more on my mental health. That's not to say my mental health is currently less than optimal, quite the contrary, my mental fortitude has been the strongest it's been in years.

I look back at my time with 2018, an absolutely massive year for me, and I look at all the things I've done, and all the things that I weathered without even batting an eye, and I'm so proud of myself for where I am.

I want to maintain that feeling and I want to grow bigger and better, and I want to do bigger and better things, and currently, I think the only thing truly standing in my own way, is me.

Which is sort of surprising, seeing as I have a more positive and driven outlook on life than most, but frequently I fear that what I'm doing and what I'm making isn't worth the time and effort, and people will just shrug it off.

For example, I was hanging out with a friend not very long ago and I told them about a new music project I was working on (more on that soon) and they mocked me for it.

I think it was meant to be a joke, but it threw me for a loop for a second, and really made me rethink all of the groundwork I had laid for this new project that I'm very excited about.

But in 2019, I'm gonna say "F*** that".

"F*** my insecurities that just try to belittle my genuine musical intelligence."

"F*** the people who can't get over themselves to support a friend who's really trying."

"And f*** you, Jon, for standing in your own way when the only thing you're ever destined to be is great."


It's almost 2019, and I'm taking a mental health year, meaning there will be some of the biggest and best things I've ever done to go along with it.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For The Countryside

Today I had what seemed like a vision. I had a very vivid glimpse of a little house in the forest, and I immediately had the sense that I...

Arashi and the Man

When I looked up at the sky, it seemed wrong. It looked fractured, wounded even. "Will it always look like this?" He turned to me and...

Cinnamon Toothpick

"What've you got there?" she asked. We sat next to each other almost every day. "Cinnamon toothpick" I reply. "Why?" "What do you mean?"...

Comments


bottom of page