top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMIKL

Cinnamon Toothpick

"What've you got there?" she asked. We sat next to each other almost every day.

"Cinnamon toothpick" I reply.

"Why?"

"What do you mean?"

"Why do you have a cinnamon toothpick? I've never heard of them."

"Growing up my parents bought them, and stumbled across them on the internet and got like 200 of them for like $7."

"Interesting."

"I know they're weird, but I really like them. They're comforting.

"Can I have one?"

That makes me nervous.

"Uh-" I dribble, a little shocked, "yeah, of course."

I flick the box a little so one pokes out, she takes it.

"Wow, these are great", she comments.


Such a simple request knocks me off balance, but sitting within the wake she makes is much better than standing on solid ground anywhere else.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For The Countryside

Today I had what seemed like a vision. I had a very vivid glimpse of a little house in the forest, and I immediately had the sense that I...

2019

Going into this next year I've promised myself that I'd try and focus more on my mental health. That's not to say my mental health is...

Arashi and the Man

When I looked up at the sky, it seemed wrong. It looked fractured, wounded even. "Will it always look like this?" He turned to me and...

Comments


bottom of page