top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMIKL

A Thought

I suddenly really like coffee.


Growing up in a household with parents that only bought Starbuck's darkest roast coffee made liking coffee hard to do. It was so bitter and so raw and I hated the taste it left in my mouth, and that was with cream and sugar. My parents liked it black. Darkest of dark, blackest of black, every day.

Now I don't like it like that, and I don't know if I ever will, but I write all this adjacent to a little peach colored mug full of the stuff. It's also a Starbucks dark roast (it's what was in the house) and lightened up with a touch of peppermint mocha creamer and a Stevia in the Raw packet. I sit here writing this, and every time I take a sip I can't help but think,


"Wow, I really like coffee."


And truthfully, I've liked it for a little while now, but as a now and again thing, not an every day thing. I've had at least one cup of coffee everyday for the past two weeks, and I'm loving every sip.


I wonder what changed.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For The Countryside

Today I had what seemed like a vision. I had a very vivid glimpse of a little house in the forest, and I immediately had the sense that I...

2019

Going into this next year I've promised myself that I'd try and focus more on my mental health. That's not to say my mental health is...

Arashi and the Man

When I looked up at the sky, it seemed wrong. It looked fractured, wounded even. "Will it always look like this?" He turned to me and...

Commentaires


bottom of page